Check for dependencies

Reading Time: 3 minutes

In the following example, we will remove a device (Windows Server called SERVER1) that has dependencies, associations, or if you prefer certain services that are not used or shared by other monitored devices in BLESK.

1 – Go to APM | Configure, then authenticate yourself.

2 – Once authenticated, click Supervision | Host, then in the list, click on the icon called “Information” to get more information about the device (SERVER1) and see what services are associated with it to know if you can delete it now or not.

3 – In doing this exercise, we notice in the information returned on the relations of services with our device, that certain services can not currently be erased because they are only used by this device (SERVER1). Therefore, if the system let us erase this host without first checking the dependencies of services, we would end up with orphan services hanging on nothing, which would make our software inconsistent and unstable!

We must therefore disassociate these services from the host by removing it. Go to Supervision | Services, then do a search for “WMI-IIS-“. Afterwards, click on each icon representing the service to edit it.

4 – Once in the service settings, click on the pencil icon to edit the section called “Hosts” listing all hosts on which the service applies. Remove from the list your device, then at the bottom of the page, uncheck the options called “Active” and “Registered” then click on the “Save” button. Repeat for the other services associated with your device.

5 – Once completed, click on the button at the bottom of the page called “Write all config files” in order to write all the changes to the server disk.

6 – Now we can go back to the “Host” tab to erase our device called “SERVER1”. Click Supervision | Host, then search the list for the host “SERVER1” and click on the “Delete” icon to erase it. This time, you are able to do this because there is no longer a service dependency associated with the device. Do not forget to click on the button at the bottom of the page called “Write all config files” in order to write all the modifications to the server disk.

7 – Finally, go to the Tools | Control and click on the four buttons on this page in the order shown below (from top to bottom). This allows for a final check and ensure that everything is set before restarting the process in real time. Note, that if you see an error, it is important to fix it before restarting the process.